Windows Internet Explorer 8

Wednesday, April 16, 2008

Windows Internet Explorer 8 (commonly abbreviated IE8) is the next version of Microsoft's Internet Explorer web browser, succeeding Internet Explorer 7. Beta 1 was released to the general public on March 5, 2008.

According to Microsoft, security, ease of use, and improvements in RSS, CSS, and Ajax support are its priorities for IE8, along with significantly better support of web standards than its predecessor. As a result of better standards compliance, IE8 will break compatibility with web pages that were designed around the bugs and quirks of previous versions. To soften the impact of these compatibility issues, IE8 will enable web designers to turn off all breaking changes in IE8. There are three modes that IE8 can render, named, "Quirks," "Strict," and "Standard." When there is an old DOCTYPE or when there is no DOCTYPE IE renders it like IE5 would (quirks mode). When a special meta element or its corresponding HTTP header is included in a web page, IE8 will render that page like IE7 would (strict mode). Users can switch between the three modes with a few clicks and then restarting Internet Explorer.

More on internet Explorer>>>

Internet Explorer

Internet Explorer- General Information

Internet Explorer 2

Microsoft Internet Explorer 3

Internet Explorer 4

Microsoft Internet Explorer 5

Internet Explorer 6

Internet Explorer 7


  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS